Bulking and cardio

Im going MASSIVE EATING in August. Naturally, I want to minimize the amount of fat/muscle ratio in gained weight. So, Im considering going on long walks before breakfeast every morning (Im a student with lots of easy subjects, so I got lots of free time). For instance, if a 90 minute walk burn 500-600 kcal, and 60% of this is from fat, this adds up to 9300-11160 kcal of pure blubber in a month. Obviously, this should reduce netto fat stored from massive eating. My concern is that this might be to catabolic? I wouldnt normally think that simple walking would be dangerously catabolic, but could that be the case here?

I would no doubt opt with some HIIT for a third of the time you’re spending. It has been effective for me as far as sparing muscle and losing fat, but since you are looking to add muscle and will expect small fat gains, maybe low intensity could work. I’m just a huge fan of interval training after reading Christian Thibaudeau’s Running Man and The Beast Evolves articles. Low intensity just seems like a waste of time to me. Why not just do less frequent and less duration high intensity intervals?
PS - I know plenty of girls who read in a women’s mag that long sessions of low impact cardio, such as walking, are better than running. I disagree, as most of the results are minimal at best.

Ive been doing a bit of intervals, and it seems to work ok. I will probably incorporate some of that as well. However, Im curious about walking and if this is catabolic (or seriously hindering in muscle gain). I live about a hour from my university, so it sort of fits well into my schedule anyway. And the mathematics doesnt lie.

squatman,

check out jb’s appetite for construction in issue 155 & ct’s running man in issue 251. this should help.

HIIT enables me to maintain that hard earned LBM while I either am shedding BF or just tryin’ to keep any excess BF from climbing on.

Definitely check out CT’s “Running Man”. That could be your ticket.