Bulking Advice Needed

I’ve been bulking for the past 3 months. I’m 6’ and went from 185-205. Not surprisingly, I gained more fat than I should have. I’m sitting at probably 16-18% body fat which I’m not comfortable with.

I made decent gains for the first 2 months. Keep in mind that I started squats/deadlifts recently, hence the newbie gains:

BB Bench: 245x1 to 265x1
DB Bench: 110x4 to 120x4
BB Standing Press: 145x1 to 185x1
BB Squat: 205x1 to 275x1
Deadlift: 255x1 to 325x1
BB Curl: 115x1 to 125x1

The past few weeks, I’ve hit a plateau. My diet seems legit and is the same it has been throughout the bulk (adequate protein intake and 3500-4000 Calories daily). I’m really hesitant to increase Calories further since I don’t think I can handle more fat gain. I’m still putting on 1 lb. a week.

I planned to start cutting at the end of January, but should I begin now? I haven’t really reached some of the goals I had for this bulk cycle, but I’ve read that muscle grows in spurts. So, I don’t really want to keep bulking if my body is not in a muscle growth stage.

Thanks for any advice.

Although you haven’t given much detail. I think you answered your own question when you said you’re not comfortable with being ‘16-18%’.

[quote]Shontayne wrote:
Although you haven’t given much detail. I think you answered your own question when you said you’re not comfortable with being ‘16-18%’.[/quote]

He might as well say goodbye to any gains made in the last 3 months if he immediately starts dieting now. You avoid that by not waiting until you start to panic before you cut back on carbs, calories or both. None of these guys will be gaining much at all if they are so turned around that they end up only trying to gain for 3 months at a time before dropping weight again.

If you don’t compete and don’t want to be the biggest guy you can be then do whatever makes you happy.