T Nation

Bulked Up for a Year, Got Fat

I’ve done Rippetoes on and off for the past 14 months. I got injured twice and had to stop, but I’ve been doing it consistently for the past 3 months now. Right now my numbers are
squat 3x5 315
3x5 bench 227.5 ,
3x5 military press 155
deadlifts 1x5 340
chinups can do 2 x5 bodyweight

I gained 40 pounds during this time and got a lot stronger and a lot more size especially in my thighs, shoulders, and chest. The problem is I had a pot belly back when I weighed 187 before I started, now its huge and I got up to 228. I’ve decided to go on a cut and went down

I’ve attached some pictures to show what I’m talking about. Basically I look like a pregnent woman with this huge belly, and I can make it look better by contracting my abs or wearing a girdle but its annoying doing this all day and it definately is noticeable through clothes. My tanita body fat scale is saying my body fat% is over 30%

I’m at a point right now where i want to start working on some hypertrophy 8-12 rep work program to get more size but I also feel I need to get rid of this huge pot belly asap and get my body fat down to around 10%

I started a cut went down to 224.2 after the first week and 223.6 after this week. I dropped my calories down to around 2300 or so and added jump rope or stationary bike on off days 3 times a week and have been doing rippetoes still. I’m finding it harder to increase the weights now so I’m considering getting off this program while I cut.

What is the best thing for me to do right now? Should I stay on a strength low rep program while doing this cut to maintain size? Should I go on a hypertrophy higher rep program to build more muscle that may help burn fat? Go on a slight cut on a hypertophy so I can build muscle and slowly lose fat? Go on an extreme cut? Can you recommend a route for me and a program to get on to achieve it

My god man, I’m not saying this to be a prick - but you need real talk.

You are not doing it right.