T Nation

Bulk, Strength or Cut First?

I am a beginner in the purest sense of the word. I started getting the idea of working out last year, and I did some basic stuff at home, but didn't get very serious. I joined a gym in November of 09, but still more or else just went to play with the toys at the gym. I didn't have a set plan. I had the basic idea of making sure I worked each major area body part with 2-3 exercises, 8 x 3, but didn't stick with a plan ever. I even went a little over a month without going to the gym in February.

During March I did some more lifting, and from the last week of march until present, I have done a cross fit type GPP program. Ive seen amazing results already in my cardiovascular and respiratory fitness, and I am pleased, but after watching the I,BODYBUILDER videos, and reading the Christmas article about why you all do what you do, I decided I wasn't going to be Bob any longer. Time to get my nasty ass to look good naked.

For reference here are my stats: (amuse your self in my nastiness)

74 in tall
215 lbs
20% bf

Bench: 185
Squat: 185
Dead Lift: 205

I do not know my 1RM, as I would never try that with out a spotter, and I do not have a gym partner. So I go as high as I can, without running the risk of injury. Slow and steady right now.

I think I know that there are generally three goals in lifting: bulking, cutting, and strength.
My first hunch says either cut first or do strength training to get my lifts up to a respectable level. Since I am new, I will gain size with the strength lifting anyway, so I would be better served killing two birds with one stone in my opinion, rather than going with a body building split right now. I can save that for when I really know what I am doing.