T Nation

Bulk Or Cut? [With Pictures]

Hi guys.

Stats:
Height: 179cm OR 5 feet 10 inches
Weight: 81kg OR 178.5lbs

I would really appreciate if you can give me some advice based on the photos below.

1. Estimate my body fat percentage
  2. Should I bulk or cut?

front view

Frontview

Sideview

Sideview

P.S: Sorry, I kind of screw up the uploads…

somewhere between 13-18%, probably the lower half. You can never be entirely sure since people store fat differently… How long have you been training and in which manner?

I have been training for about 2 years now. I was on SL 5x5. I am following Jim Wendler 5/3/1 program now. I trained hard but never really took care of the diet though. Recently, I decided to clean up my diet since there was not much progress for so long.

My lifting stats (Theoretical 1RM)
Overhead Press: 65kg
Deadlift: 158kg
Bench Press: 87kg
Squats: 135kg

Do you think I should bulk or cut?

you can alreaDY kinda see his abs. I don’t think dude needs to get any skinnier.

[quote]1 Man Island wrote:
you can alreaDY kinda see his abs. I don’t think dude needs to get any skinnier.[/quote]
Yep. I don’t see what benefit could come from dropping even more weight.

[quote]weishan89 wrote:
I trained hard but never really took care of the diet though. Recently, I decided to clean up my diet since there was not much progress for so long.[/quote]
Did you do the V-Diet earlier this year?

Either way, it makes sense that you’ve slacked on the diet, as that’s a big reason for not seeing decent results. Focus on getting about 180 grams of high quality protein (chicken, beef, whole eggs, etc.) per day. Protein is what builds muscle, so without enough of it, you’re not going anywhere. And eat enough total calories everyday so the scale goes up each week. As long as the scale’s moving up and you’re gaining strength in the gym, you’re almost-definitely on the right track.