T Nation

Bulging Disc L5/S1 Severe Pain.. Clueless

I just turned 18 and been having back pain for 1.5 years now. Terrible experience, been through depression and stopped going to college because of the pain lots of bad stuff.

I'll try to sum up what I've already done to try and fix it and hope something can help with something.

• Physical therapist (8 months, massaged me told me to rest and do light and cardio no help)

• Chiropractor (went to 4 appointments, he cracked my back for like 5 mins then told me to go home and come back again in a few days. Each appointment costed $70 and my insurance didn't cover it so after 4 appointments I had no improvement at all and was down $280 in cash. As a 17yr old student I couldn't afford to lose more he told me by the 6th appointment I would be pain-free had no trust at all and quit

• Physical therapist 2 (This one was good, didn't want me to come often because he couldn't do much for me and basically told me to watch my posture and do lots of core stuff for the TVA muscle. I had a lot of hope in his program basically doing a lot of core exercises close to everyday, but after 6 months still no improvement at all)

I'm kinda down and out don't know where to head with my lower back rehab and especially my life because it really has affected everything. I'm back in college but have lost touch with alot of my close friends because now they are a year ahead of me and i'm not going to many classes because of my lower back pain. I just want to get rid this of lower back pain and sort the rest out it's by far the biggest obstacle ever in my life.

(I've attached some MRI images and tried to keep it as short as possible, I have posted on a lot of back pain forums and some fitness forums but I came across T-Nation and saw a lot of back pain topics and threads)

i have pretty much same problem at the moment but mine has been healing slowly since i did it about 5- 6 weeks ago.
things that helped me

• electro therapy