Bulgarian Split Squats - Improve My Balance

I’ve been using the bulgarian splt squats on my lower body speed/repitition day. I’m looking to build strength for sport and am not highly concerned with hypertrophy.

What I’m wondering is: what can I do to improve my balance in the movement. It has been a limiting factor, and I’ve been trying to work through it while trying to improve it.

Try doing it with just your bodyweight with your eyes closed… I’d recommend a spotter at first.

Practice obviously.

I’ve been doing BSS for the last few months and they are brutal but i really can’t see them has a speed excercise.

Lunges, jump squats, box squats i can but i’m no expert. :slight_smile:

I used to have the same problem, whenever I did bulgarian split squats. Due to poor balance, my sets would take forever and I would be sore for days after.

What helped me the most was frequency.
I would do a set or two with just my bodyweight every time I was in the gym (3-4 times a week) even when I wasn’t doing lower-body work that day. After a few weeks of doing this I felt my balance improved a great deal. This made weighted sets easier and quicker.

[quote]gdublong29 wrote:
What I’m wondering is: what can I do to improve my balance in the movement. It has been a limiting factor, and I’ve been trying to work through it while trying to improve it. [/quote]

It’ll get better. It took me 3 weeks before my body didn’t flop around like a fish out of water.

Are you using dumbbells or a barbell?

What are you using for foot position on the bench? Is the top of the foot touching the bench, or the sole of the shoe?

How staggered is your stance? Are you on a tight rope, or do you have some width to your base?

How far forward is your lead foot? How far forward does your lead knee travel?

WHAT HAVE YOU GOT ON YOUR FEET?