T Nation

Bulgarian Secrets

Hey everyone has anyone read the book Serious growth 3,by Leo Costa .If anyone has tried its training regimen i would greatly appreciate their comments.Thanks!

I tried the original Serious Growth program and I gained a tremendous amount of strength during the first 6 weeks. I was skeptical that lifting 6 days a week, each muscle group 3 times a week would work, but it worked well. My joints had trouble handling the later phases as you are doing each muscle group up to 5 times a week. I definitely recommend it to get yourself out of a rut.

Just remember, the “Bulgarians” were using a shitload of steroids.

Dave, I doubt they were using anymore than the US.

Ive been working side by side with a bulgarian coach for the last 4 years,and holy shit did they really juice it!!!

Uh, the bulgarians in question were state sponsered olympic lifters with all of the amenities. How can that trasfer to people with regular jobs and no steroids and regular genetics?

In the mid 90’s my work situation was flexible enough to allow me to use the 6-day-a-week, twice-a-day routine in Serious Growth 3,and I truly achieved the best gains size gains ever. As far as the inference that you will need a ‘shitload of steroids’ to succeed with such a routine, I was taking nothing stronger than antioxidants,BCAA’s and caffeine…Give it a shot,just be sure to eat and sleep well on this routine.