Bulgarian Power Burst Training

Hi guys,

Recently I heard of a system bearing the pompous name “Bulgarian Power Burst Training”. Now, I’m from Bulgaria but nobody here seems to be acquainted with this program. So, I’m discombobulated - how can a system arrogate to be Bulgarian and still nobody in Bulgaria knows of it. Can some of you apprise me with the details of the system? What does it look like? Is it good for getting stronger in the three powerlifts? I currently bench press 145kg (320 pounds) and I would wish to augment that to 340 -350. I weigh 200 pounds (90kg). I don’t seek hypertrophy - just relative strength. This is the apposite time to say that I’m not a professional athlete and train after work just to keep in shape.

Also, why is it that I burn out on Westside so quickly? Even though I rotate ME exercises as prescribed I end up weak on the third or fourth week at the most. It’s the same thing with traditional Bulgarian weightlifting training - this one has you doing several maximum efforts per day!!! That’s why I currently use Russian cycles high in volume, lower in intensity. Have you got any suggestions for reaching my goal?

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to answer. All the best with your training.

Martin

Martin,

i bought the original Bulgarian Burst manual when it came out in the early 90’s…you have to workout 3 times a day, which is not do-able for most people’s time schedules. unless you don’t have any daily committments, i would suggest it…

I, too, spent forty dollars (back in the day!) for the all paper product. I think I still have it. It’s funny but if you go to my original One Lift a Day program, you will find the same basic ideas (by the way… that wasn’t meant like “I invented it” or anything…just that the information was old).

45 minute workouts
Fairly long rests, but the author got around this by doing supersets…

Ah, I didn’t like it.