Built Muscle, Lost Fat. Now What?

Since I started training I focused on building muscle. I have been training for almost two months now. I have gained 2 1/2 lbs of muscle and lowered my body fat a decent amount. I don’t have far to go with the body fat percentage I would like to be at. There’s no magic number actually. I’ll know when I look in the mirror.

So once my fat gets to where I want it to be what do I do? I don’t want to lose too much fat so at that point should I up my carbs, my calories or something else? I’m eating clean 2000 calories, 40% protein, 30% carbs, 30% fat. I’m 125 lb female. Please don’t move to the women’s forum. I seem to get more feedback here. Thanks.

Amanda, as you get older, it will be harder to stay the same. Keep on your same program with strength training and proper diet for the rest of your life. If you reach a point that you want to stay at, you will automatically adjust because you will have more cheat days. Just tighten in up a little when you start creaping away from where you want.

Once your in control of your diet, you can adjust your fat levels the way you want but as you get older, you will appreciate the ability to cut even more. Continue strength training. You really can’t get too strong or too muscular. Think of it as reserves for when you need it. There is a link between muscle mass in middle age and longevity. Quality of life is increased even more with more muscle mass. It’s insurance for when you get old. Plus you’ll be hot.

Stu

Thanks for the input Stu. I don’t think I was clear in what I was asking. My focus is to still build muscle mass but I don’t want to continue to lose fat. Most people are not concerned with keeping fat but it seems I lose it easily and I like to keep some so I still look curvy.