T Nation

Building Up Traps

I have been focusing on my traps for a few months now and I have some meat on them, but the problem is that they don’t don’t sit up high on my neck, they look flat, what excercise should I be doing or doing more of to help them look taller.

Right now I’m doing deads, high pulls, reverse shrugs.

Try CT’s “Power Look” routine. I tried it and was pleased with the results.

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459280

i like to see deads listed as a trap exersize.

i can think of two things…

you’re only working one aspect of the traps. keep in mind that the traps, abs, and glutes are rather dynamic in the way they can be activated. it seems you are only hitting the shrug aspect of the traps. try bent over rows. they will hit the whole trap but specifically the part across your upper back instead of shoulder. this could be your weakness.

the other thing…

you may have weak neck extensors. i think it is accurate to say that the neck extensors and traps are closely linked. try bridges off the wall then advance to floor bridges.

You’ll get tons of responses for deads, cleans, snatches, pulls of all kinds…farmers walks also…

I think a vital part of trap building (my favorite exercises and part of my body) is the hard sqeeze at the top of the motion. A huge shock to the system as blood is excluded and other fibers recruited.

If your gym won’t allow a true Farmer’s Walk, try this: Take the two heaviest dumbells you can deadlift and shrug. Deadlift and shrug them, squeezing the traps as hard and high as you can. Now don’t stop. Hold on. FIGHT IT! Little by little your traps will fail, drooping. Then your arms will shake, and your grip will fail. You’ll go from a full grip to a thumbless hook, then finger tips only. Hold onto those weights as long as you can.

I promise you’ll feel it in your traps.

try the waterbury walks you won’t be dispointed !