Building Strength - Deadlift

I would like some advice on how to improve my deadlift.

I have been going to the gym for about three years but the results have been lackluster due to poor programs, poor diet and basically not knowing what I was doing. I have been coming to T-Nation for a while now and have gained more knowledge and put it to practice, but I feel that I am still a beginner. The reason for that background is I�??m not sure if this post belongs in the Beginners forums or should�??ve been placed elsewhere.

I am about three weeks into a conjugate periodization routine and today was a ME day. My deads went like this:

135lbs x 5
135lbs x 5
185lbs x 5
225lbs x 3
275lbs x 3
315lbs x 1
365lbs x 1
405lbs x 1
415lbs �?? failed
415lbs �?? failed

While I failed on 415 lbs twice the first time I didn�??t get it off the ground but I tried again and made it about 8 inches up before I set it down. I feel that I could have grinded it out but one look it the mirror told me my form was atrocious and I didn�??t want to do anything to my back. I have hurt my back doing deadlifts when 315lbs was my max. I heard a pop and the pain came. I didn�??t see a doctor but just let it heal on its own �?? which took about a week before I did any weights again.

Should I have grinded it out or did I make the right choice in setting it down?

The rest of the session went like this:

Good-mornings 4x8 135lbs
Stiff legged deadlift 4 x 6 225lbs
Swiss Ball crunches 3 x 12

What I would like is some advice on how to improve my deadlift. I have been able to do 405lbs for about three months now but had not been working on improving the deadlift until now. I�??m thinking I need to keep doing good mornings and various exercises for the hams and gluetes.

What are the primary muscle groups that initiate the pull in the deadlift? I am assuming the hamstrings, gluetes and perhaps the traps.