T Nation

Building My Squat and Deadlift

I've been avoiding squats and deadlifts for the past several years. Now that I have more time to train,I am starting to do them again. I am trying to be humble with the weight and use good technique. My goal is to get strong on them and see if the idea about them making the whole body bigger because of the hormone release will work for me. I train 4-5 days a week,with a bodybuilder type split, working the major muscle groups about once a week.

Does anyone have some tried and true advice regarding these exercises? For example,deadlifts on back day and the first exercise of the workout or last exercise etc? I did them for the first time in quite a while the other day and squated 140 kilo for one rep and deadlifted 210 for one rep. Obviously ,these are very poor numbers and I sure do intend to get better. I want to train smart and not have fatigue from the one exercise interfere with the performance of the other,etc...I usually get DOMS pretty bad from my workouts that last at least a couple days. Thanks for any help. Confusion

Definitely do them as your first exercise, unless you have Olympic lifts in your programming.

Not that you have to, or can right now, but at some point I believe it is crucial to squat multiple days a week-- at a minimum two. I would DL once a week. I have even experimented with every other week and have gotten good results with DLs.

None of it is law, it just has just been my personal experience and conducive to my goals.

It really depends how you’ve structured the rest of your training. You can make good progress for a long time squatting once a week and deadlifting once a week. You can also make good progress with higher frequency and more complex loading / progression.