Building Front Squat Strength for Rugby Athlete

Hi Christian,

I’m looking for advice on program guidance for specifically building front squat strength. I’m a 25 y/o semi-pro rugby player, 6’3" and 222lbs. I have long limbs, therefore as a result front squatting feels more natural. I’ve been training with weights on/off for around 6-7 years & unfortunately have never built any real admirable strength, due to yo-yo-ing between training programs, prioritising fitness and not eating enough calories.

It is advised that I train twice weekly until the end of the season in April. Either on the day after the game (Sunday) or Monday & Wednesday. Ideally I would like to front squat for both sessions and see steady improvement for as long as possible. My 1RM has only ever hit roughly 245 lbs (110kg) for the front squat and I would like to surpass 1.3 x body weight within 3-4 months. I believe that poor glute activation, weakness in the upper back and core strength are holding me back.

I have had a look at other advice you have published with regards to front squatting Front Squat Programming - however, is there any way I could replicate a similar approach to 2 days per week? Ideally I would like to be able to also do at least 1 upper body push & 1 upper body pull exercise for both sessions. I have access to a power rack, but unfortunately no pins.

Any advice on the approach I should take over the next few months or however long would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time,
Matthew

Getting a big lift to go up at your level of experience is about 1) fixing weaknesses and 2) improving technical efficiency

The one life that would really help you is the Frankenstein squat from the bottom (starting the bar from pins):

(as a bonus you get to see my singing skills)

This movement is awesome to strengthen the torso and upper back rigidity in the front squat.

I would also recommend the fixed weight progression for your front squat: