T Nation

Building a Law Enforcement Body

Hey Jim / everyone first off id like to say thanks for the program Jim. I purchased your beyond 5/3/1 2nd edition and I love the philosophy and simplicity of the programming.

Alright so ill get right into it.

I am a asset protection investigator for a company in Canada, in short i investigate frauds/theft and make arrests on crackheads fairly often.

Ive been doing security for years and had various experiences knives/ needles/ golf clubs pulled on me.

I plan to get into corrections in the near future and after that law enforcement.

Im not a naturally big dude, im about 5’8" and without forcing myself to eat or lift im around 140 lbs.

right now ive been bodybuilding for about 2 years im around 180-190 pounds and my stats are as follows.

Deadlift - 375

Bench - 255

Press - 175

Squat - 315
(one rep maxes)

Ive been working off of my trainnig maxes just as you prescribe in your book and im currently on week two of my first cycle through. I am loving it.

Heres my only issue. Size is a big interest of mine as having a presence is the first step in any sort of arrest procedure. In fact in Canada where i live officer or security presence is the first step on the use of force continuem. The idea is if you are physically intimidating enough people will not fight you.

I obviously dont wanna be looking like a roid monkey as i wish to be approachable but being a naturally smaller dude packing on size especially in my arms is crucial.

I understand volume builds size, unfortunately there doesnt seem to be an assistance template that supports enough volume for me.

Over just the last week my girlfriend has commented how i look smaller?

The point im getting at is i want to be Big AND Strong. size is just as important to me as strength.

I can post my current plan if you would like to see it.

Is there anything you can think of that would help me in my journey.