T Nation

Building a Back With Low-Back Pain

I am 6-4 205 lbs., 31 yrs. old and suffer from frequent low-back pain when doing squats and deadlifts.

Most of my training the past 2-3 years has revolved around parameters like 10x3 and 5x5, focusing on compounds. Increased my weight from about 175 to 205 lbs. in the last 2-3 years.

I work in law enforcement and want to get to about 225 lbs. while gaining strength but with all the low-back pain I am starting to think that this is impossible, my progress is really slowing because of the breaks in training.

Is there any other way to get size without working in the high percentages (87-90%) of 1RM?

Can lifting at a lighter percentage (70-80%) of 1RM and more volume work for gaining size and strength?

I would like to still continue to use compounds but the size gain is still the main focus and if the gain can be done another way then I am all for it.

Thanks for the help and please don't mind the unfocused ramble...really getting frustrated by the lack of progress.

Perhaps you need to work on your lower back/hamstring flexibility. Do some stetches on a stability ball might be the answer. There's tons of reasons your lower back is hurting, instead of working around it, fix the problem.

Your height may be an issue, but as far as deadlifts, have you tried Romanian style deadlifts in a power rack with the pins set at knee or mid shin level? I love deadlifting, and this method has alleviated some of the lower back issues involved.

You can also do these with the bar in front of the power rack, and you'll get an added isometric type contraction that will nail your upper back at the top.

First you need to resolve your back pain issues prior to worrying about increasing weight/strength. There are numerous potential causes of low back problems and these need to be indentified.