T Nation

Build Triceps w/o Additional Weight

What up TNation, first post here. I am a long limbed lifter looking for advice for building my bench press. Let me preface my post: I am 5’9" (69 inches) and I have a wingspan of about 6’2" (74 inches). So naturally, I can deadlift a decent amount, 350 lbs, but my bench is lacking. I broke my collar bone about 6 months ago and am suffering about a 17mm foreshortening in my left (weak side) clavicle. My left collar bone is almost 2cm shorter than it is supposed to be. I started lifting weights about 10 months ago and never had a big bench, and my collar bone injury has set me back quit a bit on pressing exercises. I have not found it to affect my deadlift at all.

From reading many many articles / studies on collar bone injuries, I understand that the loss of strength in my left shoulder area is to be expected. I do plan on starting physical therapy soon, but from the studies I have read, for someone who lost as much length as I, surgery is the best option to restore “normal” lifting potential.

For the time being ( next year or so) I do not plan on having surgery, as I am not a competitive lifer and do not have extra cash to shell out. However, I do want to continue lifting, with a focus on improving my bench press. Again, I have a naturally weak bench. I find that locking out the last half of the exercise is where I struggle, so I believe I need to improve my tricep strength.

My main goal in lifting (aside from getting stronger) is working on a good strength/weight ratio. I play basketball and tennis recreationally, and enjoy being lighter and quicker. What I am asking the TNation is suggestions for tricep exercises that will help my bench, without adding a lot of extra bulk to my body. I weigh 165 at the moment, I could easily lose 10 lbs of fat in a couple months, and so if I were competing ( which I am NOT), I would want to be in the 148 lb weight class.

TL;DR