T Nation

Broken Down, but Not Broken

I wanted to introduce myself. My name is David and I have been a competitive powerlifter for 26 years. Just a few stats.....5'9", 220, 41 yo. Best competitive lifts ever...Sq 655, BP 520, DL 655.

Like many my age who have been competing as long as I have, I have a laundry list of prior injuries to include lumbar disc herniation, quad rupture, triceps rupture, and most recently 2 full thickness rotator cuff tears in the right shoulder while competing in the WNPF Worlds on 11/08. I had surgery on 12/29/09, so I'm about 5 months out now.

Didn't lift at all after my tear until 8 weeks ago...would have lifted with my good arm only, but wife's orders and as supportive as she has been over the years I thought I'd listen this time...lol. Thought I may start a log just for the fun of it and to interact with some other TI members.

Plus, maybe some of my experiences in coming back from injury might be helpful to others. I'm a physical therapist by occupation so maybe that could be of help to some too. Most of what I've learned has been from good old trial and error...obviously a lot of error over the years.

I follow a hybrid Westside style format, which I have modified over the years to fit my body and training style. Tomorrow is the start of my training week so I'll start my log tomorrow if anyone has any interest. Obviously my weights are all very low at this time since the Dr. told me to never becnh, SQ, or DL heavy again due to the strain on my shoulder...but what do they know?

I'd rather wear out doin what I love than rust out. I am trying to slowly progress as I do wanna return in as safe of a fashion as I can to some respectable lifts again. Glad to finally be a contributing member..

Welcome Big!
old lardass

Hey Big,