T Nation

Bringing Up My Posterior Chain

Hi all, I’ve been lifting seriously for about 9 months but I still consider myself a beginner. This is because my squat total is still pathetic compared to my bench and deadlift.

Over the summer I unwisely chose to do the 20 rep squats program that is, I know realize, designed for advanced trainees. Needless to say, when I got past 165 I injured my knees, and that was the end of squatting for about two months. My knees killed me-- I couldn’t do any exercises that involved them.

I’ve been doing a lot of glute activation and strengthening exercises, and I feel a lot better now, but my knee pain occasionally resurfaces, and my big weakness is still present: a weak as hell squat. Weaker than my bench. It pisses me off to no end, but I can’t do anything about it.

I am convinced it’s because my posterior chain is embarassingly weak. Knowing this is empowering, I guess, but to be honest I don’t know what to do about it. The exercises that “hit” the posterior chain the most are the one’s I’m bad at – Squats – and I’m ‘good’ at deadlifts somehow.

Here’s some important info:

-I do glute activation-- sideways band walks, bird dogs, glute bridges, etc

-I do have bumper plates at my gym, so I can do cleans and the like

-My gym also doesn’t have glute-ham raise platforms (I’m in college, no choice of gym unfortunately)

-I do run hills once to twice a week, this seems to be working my glutes

-I don’t know exactly what hip mobility stretches I’m supposed to do

-I have been squatting below parallel – for front squats, I used a wide stance with feet facing 30* out, with my ass coming down well past parallel. For back squats, not quite as deep, same foot position