Brickhead: Question on Nutritional Career

Hey Brick! You work as a registered dietician, correct? I really enjoy your insight and straightforward approach, and wondered if you could talk a little about what you do in your career. I’m studying for a career in corporate wellness, and wondered if you had any tips or anything to share. How do you go about recommending dietary changes to “normal people,” those who have no real interest in building muscle or getting lean? I’m curious as to whether you typically would lay out a specific meal plan for someone, telling them closely what to eat, as many people would likely have no real idea when it comes to guestimating on macros. Thanks for any information you can give me!

Great idea for a thread. I’d be damn happy if this actually turned into a Q&A for our resident RD. I know that I’ve picked his brain many a time via FB.

For as much as he always brings up that he’s not full blown gonzo into looking like a bodybuilder anymore, it’s rare that you have someone who is so enthusiastic and actually has the real world credentials to provide insight in a helpful manner.

S

Interesting.

I also have an undergrad degree in Nutrition and Food Science, but it was highly clinical in nature. Not sure how to use any of that as a path into the sports nutrition side.

Hey, just saw this. Thanks for making the thread.

It’s late now and I’m going to bed soon. So I will write some stuff tomorrow.

[quote]BrickHead wrote:
Hey, just saw this. Thanks for making the thread.

It’s late now and I’m going to bed soon. So I will write some stuff tomorrow. [/quote]

Looking forward to it!

Looking forward to this.

Brick, IIRC, you spent some time using a fairly lax diet, didn’t you?

Would you do it again? (Are you still doing it? hah)

Do you take a similar approach with clients (or at least try to make it as lax as possible for them to reach their goals?)

for once this is legal!

[quote]rrjc5488 wrote:
Looking forward to this.