T Nation

Brendan's Training Log

Hey guys, if it's OK. I'd like to start my journal here. My name is Brendan Ryan. I'm 17 years old. I have been training for 3 years (about 1 correctly). And I plan on starting this journal with Chad Waterbury's BBB. Then I might move on to ABBH. We'll see.

My stats as of 11/27/05
-Calves 14.5in
-Arms 12.5in cold
-Waist 29.5in
-Quads 21in
-Chest 35in
-Neck 13in
-Weight 153.5lbs
-Bodyfat 8.5%

Also, after reading Dan John's "Goal Setting for Hardasses" (great article, great writer), it inspired me to up the ante and do the following:

My short-term goal is to pack on as much quality muscle as possible. My long-term goal is to compete in bodybuilding by the end of 2006.

For my short term goal, I will post up a before picture of myself and, by the end of June, post an after picture. If I fail to do so I ask you all to bump and humiliate me until I do.

For my long term goal, if I do not compete in a show by next year, I will quit bodybuilding (this may be a bit extreme-I'm open to suggestions for motivation)

My BBB program starts tomorrow and I will post of the before pic (taken today, 11/27/05) by Friday. I will also include my diet.

Sounds good should be interesting.

Well, it looks like you are definitley approaching this smartly. It's a great idea to have before measurments and pictures. I personally think that's a better way to track progress than taking BF% or weighing yourself.

Having short and long-term goals is also a great idea, so keep them challanging and keep making new ones.

I never tried Chad's BBB, but the ABBH worked out great for me. I think either of those programs will be a good start.

What about your nutrition? Have you ever had, or do you currently have a food log to track your food and calories? They can become a pain after a while, but can be very beneficial in the beggining.

Good luck and keep us posted. Don't let anything or anyone stop your motivation.

Thanks Phil, I appreciate it.