T Nation

Breakfast Questions

Hey,

I have read books such as Scrawny to Brawny and Precision Nutrition by John Berardi, and it seems that the general recommendation for breakfast is some sort of egg-based meal. However, he also recommends a lot of meals based on oats, but advises that these being ‘protein + carb’ meals, should be taken as part of peri-workout nutrition.

Then I read that some guys are having oats for breakfast not part of their peri-workout nutrition. For example, they might have oats, berries and protein shake. Isn’t this not in line with what Berardi is saying. I’m kind of confused

And yes, I am a beginner.

Thanks for any answers.

I’m not quite sure I understand your question. Beradi says you should have eggs for breakfast and oats per-workout, but you have heard of other people having oats for breakfast and not part of their peri-workout nutrition: is this the basis of your confusion?

Just because Beradi recommends an egg based breakfast does not mean that everyone has an egg based breakfast and it certainly doesn’t mean its the ONLY quality breakfast. What’s important is the macronutrients and calories, not just what food it is.

Whether you are eating 6 eggs on toast or oats and a protein shake is not going to make any difference as a beginner. It is more likely that the real issue will be whether you’re eating enough total calories throughout the day - not whether you should have had oats at 7am rather than 5:30pm, for instance.

BTW, there isn’t any rule which says you can’t have oats for breakfast AND pre-workout.

I just thought that because oats are carbs, it wouldn’t make sense to eat them at a time not around your workout window.

What are you goals?

So on workout days you want to only eat carbs peri-workout, and on off days you are going to eat no carbs?

If you want to gain weight, you are going to have to eat a lot - and eating a lot usually involves carbs.

Maybe post your diet for more general advice…