T Nation

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Grip Strength

I just started training jiu jitsu… i already train muay thai…i need some grip strength training suggestions …because my grip sucks …any ideas or training programs are welcome

Specifically for gi sports, throw your gi over the chin-up bar, grab the lapels & do your chins/pull-ups etc.

Throw your gi around the handles of a horizontal row machine, grab the lapels & row.

Throw your gi around the handle of a t-bar row, grab the lapels & pull.

And finish every workout with 3 sets of farmers walks, with the weight wrapped in a towel. Thats all i can think of the top of my head & in a rush…

Hope it helps.

If you DL, try DL walks: Lift then walk 3 step forward and down. Lift and then 3 steps backward and down. 5 sets of 5 is the goal. 3 x 3 is the minimum you should do with a given weight.

thanks for responses guys …i like your ideas sjfou

Rock Climbing…guaranteed to work 60% of the time…every time :wink:

Seriously though it allows you to simulate different grip widths with different hand holds.

OMC

To go along with sfjou, farmers walk with the heaviest dumbells you can find. However, do not grip the handle, but wrap a towel around the handle and grip that. If you have an old gi you can cut the sleeves off of or some shitty gi pants to do the same you can get even more specific. You can apply this same principle to a barbell and do holds for time or deadlifts off a box.

Oops and I should say that the Gi suggestion is an excellant one also. Thats been added to the tool box…thanks guys

[quote]OMC wrote:
Rock Climbing…guaranteed to work 60% of the time…every time :wink:

Seriously though it allows you to simulate different grip widths with different hand holds.

OMC[/quote]

not many rocks here in Belgrade to climb hehe…but thanks anyways

[quote]Donut62 wrote: