Brachialis Pain Caused by Low Bar Squat

I’ve been battling this on and off for a couple years, and right now I’m trying to make the decision so to continue powerlifting or just lift for leisure / health.

During low bar squats, my left brachial muscle gets tweaked and causes excruciating pain that affects my bench (about 1/4 way down I lose all strength and drop the weight literally), all lifts basically, and my quality of life. Simple tasks like washing my face become painful and hard, and drying off with a towel is almost impossible at times.

My last training cycle was over a year ago where I peaked at 606 lbs on my squat during my meet; however, that came with a very specific workout program that allowed me to bench on Monday, squat on Tuesday, then I basically had to recover for a week before I could bench again, and be very careful on what I did in the gym. During that week, about 3 days of the week were healthy, rest were painful.

I’ve scoured the internet to no avail. I’ve spoken with 3 doctors, all of which gave me different analysis (one was stress reaction on the bone, one was some bone marrow thing, and the last one said I was simply building bone…at the age of 36). My physical therapist now, however, I believe ahs identified correctly the issue, the Brachialis Muscle, and after doing a quick google search, many others have this issue.

I squat low bar, thumbless. I’ve squatted this way for 4-5 years now. I’m not elite, but I’m not a beginner, somewhere between intermediate and advanced I’d say. I’m ok with giving up on powerlifting as I’m 300 lbs, and it may be time to increase my quality of life more than trying to set some records that don’t mean anything. However, before I do so, I’d just like to know if anyone has ever experienced this before and if so, what did you to do fix it.

This is an old video but it gives a bunch of views of differing weights and my squat form, it hasn’t really changed since that vid.