BP: New Tool for Stability or Cheating Crutch?

Hello Jim

Let me say thank you for all you’ve done and all the time you’ve taken to answer previous posts of mine. I always enjoy your concise, straightforward no BS responses. Be it as it may, I understand you have many people inquiring on techniques but if you find time to answer my post,I’d greatly appreciate it.

I am new to powerlifting, but experienced in the weight room. Last year,I tore my right pec and labrum in a heavy under prepared bench attempt. Needlessto say, the road back to big benching has been long and difficult. Though surgically repaired, pressing, almost exclusive to bench, has oftentimes been painful. Upper back work has been daily hammered, not exhaustively, but hopefully productively, with little prevail. I noticed my arm (right side),flares during heavier bench sets.

Thinking of a solution, I saw a hip abductor band and decided to wrap it around my arms to force them to tuck in a bench. As I did this, the pain immediately evaporated, my technique became solid, and heavy weights came down and went up easily! Eureka! However, my enthusiasm deflated as I thought this tool must be great for practice, but will it help me raw? What can I do to learn to bench pain free without it? hanks again Jim for all you do

Just so we’re clear, you want to compete in a meeting where you have to bench?