T Nation

BP Journey: From Under 200 to 500

I have been doing relatively consistent benchpress for almost 3 years. I am 45 years old and a novice lifter. Three repetitions from the halfway point with 505 pounds isn't too bad for an older guy like me (I would assume) anyway, hopefully in some small way I can help contribute. My goal is a full range 565 pound bench press before the age of 46 and ultimately a benchpress of at least 600 pounds. Not sure if I can do it, however, given the fact that I was barely able to get 200 pounds off the bar three years ago shows a little bit of progress (lol...) any pointers or suggestions by knowledgeable benchers would be greatly appreciated, respected, and certainly invited.

Bench 405 with Feet Up and Ankles Crossed!

Tried to upload this in origional post.

Good work and keep it up. That’s not exactly the half-way point by any means, that looks more like a lockout in my opinion but still impressive.

what is your current full-range max?

Yea I don’t see how that was half way. My ROM is like 18-24 inches or something so half way would be at least 9 inches.

Thanks for the feedback guys. My current full range of bench presses 465 – on a Smith rack. Yes to answer the questions in regard to the halfway point the exact measurement is 7 1/2 inches up via tape measure so the “halfway point” may be off. I had my wife do the tape measure as I lifted the bar without any weight so as to get the amount of inches. Give or take a half an inch – whatever. Anyway, my point is that I’m working toward a full range 500 pounds. If my calculations are correct I am hoping to be able to do the full range within the year. Do me a favor and before bagging on my lift keep in mind that I couldn’t budge bench 200 on a Smith rack (LOL!!!) which is pathetic. With those thoughts in mind I think that my goals are doable given the progress in under three years.