T Nation

Boxing or MMA

Hey guys I’m 18 years old. I used to play football,wrestling and track in high school. I’m currently a college freshman. And I miss playing sports and working out. I have no motivation anymore to workout since I would workout to excel better in sports plus I odnt have the time anymore like I used to.

I want to get back into the swing of things tho. I wanted to know what would be better of getting into and competing in. I’m leaning towards boxing cause I never tried it before and the training interests me. But I want to learn more things about MMA. Sorry for my newbieness but it’s kinda of like UFC correct?

Anyway for boxing or MMA where can I learn about gyms strictly for these sports around my area so I can straight training and hopefully after a couple of months compete??? I’m in the NY-Long Island Area for anyone around their. Thanks

Well, for info on gyms in your area either look some up on the internet or maybe some members on here will post some cool places in your area.

As for choosing MMA or boxing, it all comes down to what you like. Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) is like UFC, yes. Think of it as all types of fighting combined. You will learn boxing, some form of kickboxing, and some ground work.

Here’s what I would do, try them out. Find a place you like and take a boxing and mma class (they usually offer a free session). You’ll find what you like and the place you like to train.

Good luck!

Should I look for boxing or mma specfic gyms. Or should I go to like a major gym like a ballys etc and take those classes?

Cause I think the major gyms would be less intense and I have my heart set on competing since I lost my final football game of senior year and I lost my last wreslting match and was one away from placing into the state championship so I really want to compete and prove to myself that I can win again.