T Nation

Bored with Westside

Hey guys just wondering if other ppl have this problem.

I recently began doing Westside PL program, with two ME and two DE days.

While the program is working(up 5 Kg on max bench, and 10Kg on squat), and I love going to the gym on ME days(love training like a PL), I absolutely dread DE days. It's not that it's hard, it's just so repetitive(i.e. doing up to 10 working sets on the bench).

Now I'm not looking for the replies "Just Fuckin DO it" - that's a given - I'm gonna stick with it and see how well it works.
Just interested if anyone else felt this shall we call it feeling of "going through the motions" on DE day?
I also felt the same with GVT about 2 years ago.

I started Westside-style programming this past spring . not bored at all with it yet .

I do a 3/week version , replacing DE bench with RE . the other day is ME squat/DL.

Wow i’ve never been ‘bored’. but i understand. i’ve always done high set shit. even when i was a noob i’d still do 3 warmup sets and then 3-4work sets so I was still up there.

how strong are you right now?
what are your goals?
what is your level of conditioning?
why westside as opposed to some other protocal?

…if you’re a PL it shouldn’t bore you, this is your time to work on your technique. Also you should be only doing 30s-1min rest (depending on your level of gpp). So that shit should go by pretty fast.

Maybe throw in an RE day every now and then?

Or maybe put better songs on your mp3 player :slight_smile:

Yeah dude, unless you can bench over 300, squat over 4, and deadlift over 5 just scrap the DE days. Powerlifters who already have the base of strength looking to increase their totals gain some benefit from the DE days, but if you’re not competing substitute DE for RE (repetition effort) days.

Just do more of a bodybuilding style on those days. And instead of DE lower body days just do Oly lifts those days (hang snatch, power clean, clean and jerk, etc). I think you’ll find that alot better.