T Nation

Boosting Test/GH Without Working Legs?

OK, I will post a little bit of background about myself and my situation and then my thoughts and then leave everything open for informed comments.

Basically, I had been training for about 2 1/2 years solidly, going from around 140lbs to around 205lbs at the same bodyfat perrcentage, around 13% or so. I am 5’10". I guess I was at intermediate or advanced intermediate stage by strength and size standards… my big lifts were in the 300-450lb club, I could do 10 chins with an added 66lbs of weight, and whilst I appreciate by T-Nation standards my build was nothing to shout about, the average person used to constantly comment on me being massive.

Anyway, for personal reasons that aren’t relevant and I won’t bore you all with, I had 14 months off from training, but then about 3 months ago I started again and got back to not all that far behind where I was after 9 weeks of solid training.

Unfortunately I then encountered the rather major problem of fracturing my ankle and tearing all the ligaments and tendons 2 1/2 weeks ago (quite painful it was, may I add), as well as a couple of days ago damaging the cartilage in my other knee from hopping about on it so much.

So basically the situation is I won’t even be able to walk for 6 weeks, and can’t train my legs for 6 months, and even then I will have to be careful and go quite light, at least to begin with. It was a pretty bad fracture and tear of the ligaments, it’s pulled the bones out of place and all sorts. So basically: no squats or deadlifts. I can’t train my legs.

I was planning to start a 20 rep squat/20 rep deadlift routine but obviously that’s out of the question now. Normally I would favour an upper/lower split or a full body, depending on how often I would want to train, since training would always come second to my personal/social life.