Boosting Caloric Intake

What’s up, Guys! I recently read John Berardi’s article on Massive Eating, and I discovered that I need to be consuming roughly 4900 calories per day in order to gain substancial size (This is almost double what I’ve been normally doing).

I’m pretty careful about what I eat (several times/day), and I’ve even started keeping a food log. I also drink protein shakes twice a day ( 2 scoops Low-Carb Grow!) in the morning with breakfast and after workouts in the evening.

I guess what I’m wanting is input as to how I can double my caloric intake without feeling like I’m gorging myself. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-jb

great question. I am having the same problem but i need about 3500 kcal. im a broke college student so i try to ration my shakes (mid after noon and late night, one scoop w/ 1/2cup cottage cheese yada yada yada).

I punched my numbers into the massive eating formula and came up with about 4300 calories. However I already gain about 1 lb every 7-10 days on 3000 calories (150lbs@9-10%). On 4300 Cals I was getting fat very quickly and always felt like hurling.

If you are keeping a food log then you should be able to figure out how many calories you are consuming and compare that to what’s happening on the scale. Then you know exactly what your own body’s requirements are. It makes sense that beginners can turn a greater surplus into muscle versus fat than a simlar person who is at an advanced stage of development.

If you are not gaining fast enough or anything at all then incrementally increase your calories. Remember that a daily deficit/surplus of 500 calories will lose/gain about 1lb of fat/week unless it goes to muscle.

Add 250 calories per day each week until you get to your caloric goal. Your body will thank you for the fuel. I can hit 4000 calories without thinking about it.