T Nation

Books on Sprinting

Does anyone have any book/article recommendations for sprinting?

I don’t want to become a “sprinter”, I just want to lean out a bit through sprinting. In other words, I am a beginner to sprinting.

Thanks,
Pambele

[quote]Pambele wrote:

I don’t want to become a “sprinter”, I just want to lean out a bit through sprinting. In other words, I am a beginner to sprinting.

Thanks,
Pambele[/quote]

Head over to charliefrancis.com

Take a look through the forums. If anything, I would recommend the GPP dvd and CFTS. Those should get you started in the right direction.

I love this site

http://www.brianmac.demon.co.uk/sprints/index.htm

This book explains the Sprint 8 workout:
http://www.amazon.com/Ready-Set-Synergy-Fitness-2nd

[quote]Pambele wrote:

Thanks,
Pambele[/quote]

If you just want to use sprinting to lean out a bit, do you really need a book? Just go out there and run.

The Charlie Francis stuff would probably be counterproductive as it’s geared on developing a fast 100m, not on getting in shape and leaning down, which would be a different program.

[quote]medic33 wrote:
This book explains the Sprint 8 workout:
http://www.amazon.com/Ready-Set-Synergy-Fitness-2nd[/quote]

Medic, the link didn’t work for me.

Thanks,
Pambele

[quote]jtrinsey wrote:
If you just want to use sprinting to lean out a bit, do you really need a book? Just go out there and run.
[/quote]

You make a good point, and I have been doing exactly that for the past two months or so, but I think I need a bit more structure around my sprinting workouts and I could also learn better technique - I have developed shin splints and they’ve gotten really bad…

[quote]jtrinsey wrote:

The Charlie Francis stuff would probably be counterproductive as it’s geared on developing a fast 100m, not on getting in shape and leaning down, which would be a different program.
[/quote]