Books on Investment

I am currently majoring in human biology in college right now, but I have decided to learn more about investing on my free time. For those of you who are experienced in this field, can you guys recommend any good books on investing/stocks/real estate?

I wish I would have read Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki years ago. It may not answer all your questions but it will change your perspective.

You know it is funny you mentioned that. I just finished that book 3 days ago…and it is what got me interested in wanting to learn about investing.

You might want to check that site out before spending too much money on rich dad poor dad books. They were all pretty much worthless. They are motivate you to get rich, but don’t show you any way to get started, and the investment advice was non-existent.

I enjoyed and learned a good bit from Jim Cramer’s book “mad money”. I just finished Ken Fishers book “the only three questions that count” which was excellent. I liked Peter Lynch’s “beat the street” Finally you can read “the intelligent investor” by Benjamin Graham. It is the manual that Warren Buffet learned from. I didn’t really care for any of the motley fool books. They had OK personal finance info in their first book, but the investment stuff was a little weak.

I will look through all of my old books and see if I can find any other good ones that I might be forgetting.

I second the recommendation for the “Intelligent Investor”: if you were to pick only one book, you could do much worse than selecting that splendid tome. It is a bit dated, but that hardly matters since it shows you how to invest rather than what - teach a man to fish and all that. It cuts through the bullshit and shows you how to spot it. Solid investment.