Bodyweight Skills

Hey, I’m relatively new in lifting, around only a year’s experience. I’ve always wanted to do things like planche, and so far I have a small hold in the tuck planche. Right now I’m following a basic Westside template, so im wondering how i should incorporate things like the planche, one handstand holds, and things like the flare with my lifting routine?

For those that dont know that the planche is…

Do them AFTER your lifting (pref on a different day) and especially nowhere near your ME days.

BW skills are a very good exercise since they basically work the whole body, esp. lots of muscles that work as stabilizers during the powerlifting compound lifts, so doing these while you are already exhausted by BW exercises will hinder your progress and might even be potentially dangerous.

[quote]mishaps wrote:
Hey, I’m relatively new in lifting, around only a year’s experience. I’ve always wanted to do things like planche, and so far I have a small hold in the tuck planche. Right now I’m following a basic Westside template, so im wondering how i should incorporate things like the planche, one handstand holds, and things like the flare with my lifting routine?

For those that dont know that the planche is…
http://www.dragondoor.com/articler/mode3/229/[/quote]

Hi mishaps.

I’ve worked on those progressions in the past (got to straddle planche and full front lever) and they take a long time and a lot of consistency to achieve.

As far as working them into a Westside template, I’m probably not the best person to ask as I’ve never actually followed a Westside template (Me day and RE/DE day). But, I would probably do them on the ME day personally. Notice in the article that Coach Sommer says that he has his athletes do the holds after they’ve done their physical preparation work (at the end of their workout).