T Nation

Bodyweight / Pull

Hi there.

I’ve got a challenge for your imagination at hand.
Basically what I need is a set of bodyweight exercises that resemble a basic “pull” movement pattern.

Now, the chin up / pull up / muscle up is a no-brainer.
The thing is, I’m a martial arts instructor and my average client is not genetically gifted or has extensive experience in any other athletic discipline. When people come to my dojo, the tend to be unfit. That’s why high intensity exercises such as forementioned pull up are far out of scope.

Therefore, I’m looking for a “softer”, more “gentle” alternative that recruits some muscle in the lats and upper back. Since I want my people to be able to practice at home, the exercise needs to be doable with no equipment at hand.

Unfortunately, I can’t think of many such exercises, can you?

I’m really looking forward to reading your ideas.

Cheers,
Lukas

Rows in a door frame? Stand in the door frame, your hands holding to it at about waist level. Bend at the hips (a lot and sit back) and knees (slightly), so that your hands-shoulders-waist are in line.
Pull hard focusing on the lats. Key to the exercise, two words : Scapular retraction. At the top (while standing).

All that I could think about, without ANY equipment at all… Hope it’ll give you ideas.

Cheers, Thor

Or you could try having them start in a bentover row position. Slight bend in the knee, torso bent @ about a 75 degree angle to the floor(chest up, scapulae retracted/depressed), standing on the ban have them pull the hands toward the torso as far as they can w/o internally rotating at the shoulder as this will cause the scapulae to come out of retraction(or unset). Have them pull half way between the belly button and nipple line and return back to the starting position.