Bodyweight Only Program

I am currently studying abroad in a small village in France and don’t have any access to weights or a gym. The closest gym is 45 minutes away. I am a college baseball player and have recently been trying to add lean mass so I can increase my force into the ground to throw harder and relieve stress on my arm. I will be in France for the next six weeks.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on what I could do to either increase (preferably) or maintain my muscle mass during the six weeks that I am in France, primarily using bodyweight movements. It is also difficult for me to maintain a caloric surplus as the French tend to eat relatively small meals.
I really appreciate any help!

Push-ups, swings (use a lil stool or small chair etc if that’s all you have available), glute bridges, planks + walking on your hands (with your feet dragging behind ) can all be great movements to do with limited equipment.

Also, resistance bands can be really useful for training away from home (especially good for lats, shoulders & triceps etc).

you’ll be able to undo the 6 weeks of damage in a month or so. Just do what you can, when you can, and enjoy the once in a lifetime experience without worrying about things like your muscle mass.

2 Likes

Try out some Parkour.

1 Like

Yeah now may be a great time to get into something different. Yoga may be a good option too.

Also, dc training can be done with bodyweight for the upperbody. For lower, run hills if there are some near you.

The best way to gain strength which bodyweight is to train with challenging movements. Pistol squats, one-arm push-ups and pull-ups are all fantastic exercises in general, not just for in situations with limited equipment.

Having said that I am in complete agreement with @yogi1: make the most of France and get back on it when you’re back home. It never matters that much. Also, calories really shouldn’t be a problem in France lol.