Bodyweight Exercises

Im sure this has probably been answered but could one build muscle from doing body weight exercises like dips pullups etc… WITH the help of Weighted Barbell Squats? Is it possible? Or do you just need more resistance

a total beginner might make some gains but as soon as your body adapts to the stress the gains will stop. unless you further increase the demands, your body has no reason to progress.

[quote]1morerep wrote:
a total beginner might make some gains but as soon as your body adapts to the stress the gains will stop. unless you further increase the demands, your body has no reason to progress.[/quote]

Agreed. Bodyweight exercises used as your primary training focus would result in far LESS gains than someone who went ahead and truly stressed their muscles with heavier weight.

[quote]Rippemanewone wrote:
Im sure this has probably been answered but could one build muscle from doing body weight exercises like dips pullups etc… WITH the help of Weighted Barbell Squats? Is it possible? Or do you just need more resistance[/quote]

The answer is yes, but as noted above there is an ending point to the gains. And it all depends on your overall goal. If your goal is to just get into generally good shape, BW exercises can help you achieve that goal. If your goal is greatly increased mass, strength or a BB type physique then BW can be an assist but not your primary means of training.