T Nation

Bodyweight and Rings Training Thread

I don’t know if there was a thread made for this. Currently I’m on a program that involves nearly all exercises on rings and paralletes, as after 25 years of traditional bodybuilding/strength training I nearly lost all enthusiasm for the gym this past year. I don’t like cookie cutter routines But considering I’m a noob with hardcore calisthenics, I am following the Kavadlo brothers program for rings in their book on it.

My enthusiasm for lifting is actually quite high again and I usually can’t wait to train when I wake up. I Plan on doing this for awhile. Plus I’d like to possibly nail down a human flag eventually.

Anyone in on this type of training? My new book collection includes three Kavadlo books and Convict Conditioning 1 and 2.

Not as my main form of exercise but I feel as if @Sigil is a mandatory tag.

2 Likes

Well hey like moth to flame Im here…

Interesting to see Brickhead hop on the rings trend (his posts were really traditional brosplit/bodybduilding why fix whats not broken etc.).

Yeah went deep in the rings/calisthencis rabbit hole (culminating in using band / suspension system to do advanced movements).

Will sticky thread and see how it goes…looks fun !

1 Like

Yes! I have followed all those programs in the past. Rings are awesome, and I was perhaps at my physical peak when focusing on rings and bodyweight.

I never achieved: the human flag, 1-armed pull ups, or the iron cross.

Did achieve but was never very good at: full-on bridges.

I did achieve: ring (and bar) muscle ups for reps, handstand push ups for 10+ reps (with wall), weighted pistols for reps, standing ab wheel roll outs, 15+ 1-arm push ups, front levers.

Under-rated exercises for those that don’t do rings much:

• 1-arm ring push ups. Put the ring about 12" from the floor and do 1-arm push ups. Very hard, but awesome strength and core builder.