T Nation

Bodyweight and Hypertrophy

So I’ve been lifting for about four years now, and i can’t afford a gym membership. Does anyone know if it is possible to gain muscle mass with bodyweight only? Thanks for any replies!

Search for a “death by bodyweight” article on here somewhere, that has some useful hints. If you are creative enough I bet you could come up with some good workouts but eventually I think you’ll need weights.

You’re not going to gain much with just bodyweight.

I would suggest buying an olympic weight set. for a couple of $100-200 brand new.

You can make great gains with just an olympic weight set.

You can still do squats. You can do front squats. And you can also do lighter weight and high rep back squats squats. You can power clean, deadlift (sumo, straight legged, romanian), milit press, bent over rows.

Later on you can invest in a bench for bench press and a rack for squats/bench, another couple of hundred dollars.

Yes you can get a bigger and stronger until you are in a better financial situation. The key will be to make the exercises harder over time. sets of 50 pushups that you breeze through, bad, sets of 10 with a bookbag full of heavy books that make you want to cry, good.

[quote]razoreddarkness wrote:
So I’ve been lifting for about four years now, and i can’t afford a gym membership. Does anyone know if it is possible to gain muscle mass with bodyweight only? Thanks for any replies![/quote]

It’s possible to gain some, but it’s going to take a lot of ingenuity and knowledge of how to make bodyweight exercises more challenging if you want to gain muscle mass using only bodyweight. Gymnasts do it, but it takes them years and once again you really need to understand how to make bodyweight exercises progressively more difficult.