T Nation

Body Weight Question

I've been lifting for about 4 months now. I started on a 5x5 program and made great gains and have recently changed over to 531.

Right now I'm 6'3'', 235lbs, and about 20-25% body fat.

My diet is a mess and I know that's something that has to change regardless. Beyond that, should I keep eating in a calorie excess to build more strength? Despite the gains I've made over the last few months I'm still very weak. Should I reach my lifting goals then worry about BF% or get my BF% under control then worry about lifting bigger wieghts. From what I've read, it doesn't seem like I can do both at once so I'm going to have to make a decision soon.

As a newb if you're training very hard and sleep is on point etc then you can do both -ie eat to sustain your lifting goals/hard workouts and just make cleaner food choices...
https://www.T-Nation.com/diet-fat-loss/simple-diet-for-athletes

There are a ton of good articles on how/what to eat right here on this website.

IMO, and based entirely on my own experience and little else you should be OK to eat a fair bit if the quality is good and you train hard enough. That's kind of the key: if you work hard enough under the bar you'll get stronger. You'll also put on more muscle. As your body composition changes to being more muscular, you'll need more calories just to maintain that mass let alone grow more muscle and recover.

Just personally, I'd worry about getting stronger and clean up the diet. Let your bodyfat take care of itself, because the chances are if you take care of those two things the bodyfat WILL take care of itself.

Just my two cents'. For what its worth, I started powerlifting just over a year ago. I'm about 6' and when I started I weighed around 187 and was probably towards the lower end of the 20-25% bodyfat range, even though I did a ton of strength endurance work (kettlebell sport five to six times a week) and controlled my diet pretty rigidly.