T Nation

Body Recomp Advice

Hello all,

Of late I have been pondering the realities of being obesely skinny. Before you go off on that let me tell you what I mean by this, I feel that I am in need of significantly more muscle mass (skinny) yet I am carrying around way too much body fat (obese).

GOALS:

I have set a target goal for myself of 190lbs 10-12%BF, no really specific time limit, I don’t mind taking it slowly and working towards this over a few months.

A friend suggested that I try to do a body recomp. Here are my challenges, I LOVE to eat (the only diet I have ever done was massive eating…) and I HATE cardio :stuck_out_tongue: While I realize that I will have to do at least a little of both I was wondering if there was anything I could do to help me achieve my goals with still enjoying eating and minimizing cardio.

CURRENT STATS:

I have been training for a few years but I have been plagued by consistency problems. Even so I feel that I have made reasonably good progress. When I started lifting 8 or 9 years ago I weighed 125-130lbs. Currently I am:

Weight: 205lbs
BF%: 18-20%
Height: 5’6"

CONDITION AND LIFESTYLE:

I should also mention that I have bad knees, and some lower back pain, (that were aggrivated by a car accident a few years ago), I work though these most of the time, however things like running are just too much for my knees to handle so any cardio that I do do is usually bicycle or rowing machine.

Currently I do alot of sitting at work, I try to walk around as much as possible, but the majority of my time is spent sitting in meetings or infront of a computer. I don’t play any sports or really do a whole lot of extra activity outside of the gym, except for some chores (house maintenance, yard work etc).

WORKOUT:

Due to scheduling constraints I have been reduced to a 2 day workout week :frowning: In these two days I do a split routine, workouts usually take a long time going from 2-2.5 hours.