T Nation

Body Re-Composition Help!

Hi everyone,

Here’s another question from a confused beginner about nutrition. I’m 195lbs-200lbs now so let’s say I want to stay at my weight now. My goals are to gain muscle and recomp my body so that I will gain muscle, swap all this fat weight or whatever weight it is for good muscular weight.However, I don’t really wanna be more heavier than 185-205lbs.

So my plan is to follow the basic rules for muscle building and recomp:

1)Eat every 2-3 hours, no matter what
2)Try to eat fruits and veggies with each meal
3)Train hard and heavy
4)Do cardio-- brisk walking in the morning for 3-4 days a week, and 1-2 days of sprint (I don’t want to annihilate myself here as I’m just getting started so I’ll ease in with the walks and sprinting)
5)1 gram of protein per pound of body weight (take 20-50grams protein per meal)

My question is: Let’s say, I want to be building muscle and I’m a little skinny fat now at 195lbs, but I want to completely re comp my body from head to toe and turn it into a muscular physique (good for powerlifting and basketball), how would I go about doing this? Do I keep eating at 1 gram of protein per pound of bodyweight? Do I try to increase my calories? Should I be gaining weight-- i.e. bulking up and then bulking down? I’ve heard of people who have not gained a single pound (or within a range of 5lbs) but have been able to completely transform their physique in like 2 years or something like that.

So basically to sum the above up:

1)Body recomp without gaining weight
2)Do I need to be increasing calories/protein intake if I want to be adding muscle but recomp my body?

Here is my nutrition plan now:

Meal 1:
3 eggs (2 egg whites and 1 whole egg)
Oatmeal with protein source in
2 glasses of milk
1 banana
(Roughly 40-50grams of protein)

Meal 2:
Protein source (e.g. Tuna)
Glass of milk
1 banana and some veggies
(Roughly 30g of protein)

Meal 3:
1-2 cups of rice
Protein source (e.g. chicken)
2 glasses of milk