Body Comp Question

I am new to powerlifting, and I am far from being strong. Recently joined a powerlifting gym, before that I did all my training in my basement. So, the question is: Does bodyfat aid a powerlifter? It would seem to me, all things being equal except for percent of bodyfat, you would want to be lean and lift in a lighter class. I am 47, and did my first meet (a push/pull) at 165#. 5’10" and about 8.5% bodyfat. The guys I lift with say I need to move up to 181, eat more, and do less cardio. My gym lifts are 275# bench w/a katana, 460# squat w/a centurion, and a 465# deadlift w/a old metal deadlifter.

[quote]JohnP64 wrote:
I am new to powerlifting, and I am far from being strong. Recently joined a powerlifting gym, before that I did all my training in my basement. So, the question is: Does bodyfat aid a powerlifter? It would seem to me, all things being equal except for percent of bodyfat, you would want to be lean and lift in a lighter class. I am 47, and did my first meet (a push/pull) at 165#. 5’10" and about 8.5% bodyfat. The guys I lift with say I need to move up to 181, eat more, and do less cardio. My gym lifts are 275# bench w/a katana, 460# squat w/a centurion, and a 465# deadlift w/a old metal deadlifter. [/quote]

No. Variables matter in this order:

Technique
Programming
Experience
Strength

You can’t flex fat. Then again, you can’t have a tiny waist and expect to squat a lot. If your goal is strength and a better total, stop measuring your bodyfat and be whatever size you need to be to move the most weight in a meet.

ive found that when i weigh 300+ i can move weight easily, and when i cut to 250 i have a harder time moving same weight, ill still do it, just not as easy.

[quote]gurbob wrote:
ive found that when i weigh 300+ i can move weight easily, and when i cut to 250 i have a harder time moving same weight, ill still do it, just not as easy.[/quote]