BMR, TDEE, Calories, and How Much?

Hi all, newbie here! A few stats:

Height: 177cm (5 foot 10)
Weight: 134 Kg

I have calculated my TDEE (moderately active; walking every day for at least an hour, 5x5 two to three times a week) to be 2992 cals. Should I just subtract 500 cals a day to initiate fat loss?

Yesterday, according to FitDay, this is what I ate in terms of macros:

Protein: 205g
Fat: 150g
Carbs: 50g
Total calories: 2398

Note: I tend to do better on a lower carb diet, even when lifting heavy. It’s not always as low as 50g, but it’s never lower than that amount. It’s usually around 75-100g, all from vegetables and a little starch (sweet potato) post-workout. Grains, rice, beans etc just bloat me out so have eliminated them.

So, my question: does that macro and calorie breakdown look good for someone in my position of looking to lose fat and preserve muscle?

Sorry for the long-winded first post!

Looking forward to reading your replies! :smile:

Most important point (so I’ll put it first). Whatever calculators (not particularly accurate. Ball park figure yes but exact science not really) or this forum tell you and whatever numbers you end up picking you’re gonna have to start on the diet and stick to it consistently, say for a week, while weighing yourself everyday under the same conditions to see how you are responding and then adjust from there. Doesn’t matter which starting point you use exactly because you’re probably gonna have to adjust it anyway.

e.g. you lose nothing by the time the week is up = your diet is not hypocaloric/creating a caloric deficit therefore you adjust down. You lose weight too fast (affects the intensity of your workouts which are the stimulus to hold onto max muscle) on the scales so you adjust slightly upwards.

TLDWatch
-500 cal seems alright for a starting point. Watch the scales and adjust accordingly tho.