Bloody shins

Guys I’ve been deadlifting now for about 2 years on and off.
Just recently I’ve realy started on using correct technique.
But I always have bloody shins after each set. My gym has a sign that says no chalk right in front of where I do deads.

Anyone else have this problem.
I can always wear pants, but I hate wearing pants in the gym.

oh yeah… anyone check out coachking.com? I’m thinking of joining.

I place one of those cylindrical pads (usually used to cushion the traps/shoulders for squatting) around the bar when I do my deads–it helps to save my shins, though I sometimes still get slight abrasions from the velcro. Hell, you know it’s been a good workout if you’re bleeding, right?

I get those every week, along with some bruises. I feel that they are a rite of passage to having a good deadlifting workout. If they really bother you just cover your shins with duct tape, I also hear rubbing chalk on your shins helps.

Bloody shins are an indication of proper deadlifting form, but it does such having your shins cut up all the time. Since i also hate wearing pants when doing legs i used to wrap my knee wraps around my shins. Might have looked a little funny, but it did the job.

Before I got my York Comp. Olympic bar, I used to get bloody thigs when cleaning and snatching. The old bar had extreme knurling. I used to just spray a little WD-40 on my thighs before lifting.
When I was done, I’d wipe the bar down with a cloth, and if necessary some chalk. Never had a problem with it becoming slippery.

I use a Trap Bar and don’t have to worry about my shins. I also find it easier to keep better form with a Trap Bar.

It is funny to see the looks of the people at my gym when I do deadlifts. It is even funnier when some guy taps me on the shoulder and asks if I knew I was bleeding on my shins. I have a nice scar on my right shin from the multiple scratches. I just do it and don’t care about the bleeding, it is never all that much.

Sand.