T Nation

Blood Tests vs Urine Testing

I am a complete noob to low t and I am 43 yrs old.
I have read all the stickies and you guys have provided a great deal of info and I appreciate it.
I have noticed the debate between the urine testing vs blood. My question is:
Has anyone done both and done any sort of a comparison ? I know these tests are not cheap, but I may be
Willing to do both tests during the first year, just for the sake of our collective knowledge.

For a little background, I have been on the slow motion train wreck of low t symptoms for the past 10 years.
I have worked shift work for 22 years as well as tons of overtime, so I am sure that doesn't help.
Kind of being in denial, I blamed all my symptoms on my job, stress, not eating right, long hours (12 hour shift),
Etc. a little over a year ago, I approached my primary doc about low t, after hearing commercials, etc.
My doc basically blew me off and said lose weight, exercise, and everything will be fine.
So after getting diet in check, going back to the gym, weights and cardio, I dropped from 240 to 212. My body
fat started at 33% and is down to 24%.
Everything is NOT fine. I feel worse now, a year later.
I did blood work in early December and demanded that my doc check my testosterone level, and he reluctantly
agreed. At that time I knew nothing about free t or estrogen, and the doc did not order it.
When total t came back 418 on scale of 347 - 1147 (Labcorp) .
I had an appt. scheduled with my doc specifically to discuss my symptoms (you guys know them) but the day
before the appt. the doctor calls and tells me I am normal and I don't need to come in, basically cancels my appt.
Being totally pissed and frustrated, I went through the process online with one of the big name clinics.
I don't know if we are supposed to name them or not so I won't. This clinic accepted my blood work, I had to send