Blood Pressure Meds & Training

Hi,
my GP has just prescribed an ACE-inhibitor to reduce my high BP (175/100). Does anyone know if it will affect my training?

Dax

[quote]Old Dax wrote:
Hi,
my GP has just prescribed an ACE-inhibitor to reduce my high BP (175/100). Does anyone know if it will affect my training?

Dax[/quote]

I am not a doctor, but I would think that this would effect your energy and motivation the most.

Do you know the cause of the high BP?

The first few days it’ll make you feel slugish, but you’ll adjust and feel fine within a week or so. Train through it and take it at night before bed.

Just out of curiosity, why did your doc go with an ACE inhibitor? Did he give you any reason?

And more importantly, have you tried aerobic work and diet alterations before going to meds?

-Dan

Hi,
the doc didn’t give a specific reason, but mainly side effects at the (low) dosage should not be “noticable”.
However I wasn’t sure if it would affect training.
Cause: not sure but I’m overweight (265lb @ 6ft) BP has been borderline high for a couple of years now, I do cardio in the form of cycling to & from work.Min = 40miles / week, max =80miles.
Usually 20-40 mins in the morning & 20 mins in the afternoon.
My father (76yo) has high BP and recently has had three strokes but seems to have recovered. My mother had a few strokes before she died (heart attack) age 73. So there is a family history there.
As to loosing weight I am having a difficult time with this, though at ~265lb I’m down from my highest of 320lb reached about 14 years ago. Over the last year I’ve gained about 20-25lb and it is really hard to shift it!

Thanks for the replies,
Dax

If you can and he gives you a choice, ask him to prescribe you Diovan HCT, This is the only bp med I have beenon that does not make me sluggish or give me any side effects at all, unlike other drugs and it keeps my bp in check quite well…

[quote]buffalokilla wrote: