Blood Glucose Observation

So I was wondering if I should up my post workout carbs and maybe push in a few more meals, because my training seems to really make me lethargic and tired by the end of the day. Very cloudy headed.

I got a glucose meeter and began tracking blood sugar levels.

Normal morning - around 75.

Preworkout meal, peri-workout shake, and post workout shake (500 calories all told) and I am at 105 right after the last shake. One hour later I am at 80, then 1 hour later I am at 65.

I think I need more carbs right around there - or more to the point I need to eat balanced carbs and protein at 2 hour intervals.

On days I dont train - I float around 80 to 90 without issue.

Anyone else observe their blood sugar levels and see what their workouts do to them ?

P.S. If I just do some cardio - it does not drop the sugar levels nearly as much.

My training is strength based reps and some Tabatta sessions.

im no expert but i would think after your workout your blood glucose levels would naturally drop. i would think as long as it returns its not a problem.

im curious to see what someone who actually knows their shit has to say though.

[quote]Deorum wrote:
im no expert but i would think after your workout your blood glucose levels would naturally drop. i would think as long as it returns its not a problem.

im curious to see what someone who actually knows their shit has to say though.[/quote]

Likewise - I am sure KSMAN and others are around and may see this.

let the learning begin!

how’d you get the glucose meter, and which one? Just wondering, since I’ve considered doing that.

[quote]mcl wrote:
how’d you get the glucose meter, and which one? Just wondering, since I’ve considered doing that.[/quote]

any online drugstore will see them and strips.

www.drugstore.com is where I got mine - one touch ultra.

Fortunately - I do not have diabetes. But there was no check to see if I needed an rx