Bitches, Gripes, Complaints and Plateaus

Hey all, first I want to say that 5/3/1 is an absolutely amazing program that I have seen great gains on, and have no plans on abandoning it for a long time. Thank you, Jim, for the great program.

Why I made this post is I’m going to share some of my frustrations regarding recent plateaus, but more importantly where I think that I have gone wrong in my programming, so that I can hear what you guys have to say. And maybe some young buck can read this and learn, as well.

About me: I am 19, and had just busted through the 160 pounds barrier, but due to recent changes am around 153, but increasing (I’ll elaborate). I go to Texas A&M University and am a Sophomore in the Corps of Cadets (The weight loss). I’ve been lifting for 4 years, with about a year long break when I was a freshman last year, and have been strength training since roughly the end of that break last year.

How I got into weights: My dad introduced me to weights after I would constantly pester him to sign us up for a gym and unfortunately his approach was the typical bro-split get-a-pump type workouts. Due to this, I was never introduced to the squat or deadlift, but had to introduce myself to them through this site, years later.