T Nation

Bill Starr's 5x5 for Intermediate Lifters

Hi all,

I'm debating on starting Bill Starr's 5x5 program for intermediate lifters. I mainly want to increase my strength especially in my squat and deadlift.

I've been lifting for about 5 years now and am wondering if this program would still be legit for me to do or if I should take it up a notch and do the advanced program. I can Bench about 1.6 x my body weight and squat somewhere along the linees of 1.8 x my bodyweight. My legs are my weakest body part and I really need to get them stronger.

Do you guys think I should give this program a shot or another strength oriented program?

Are you more interested in powerlifting or bodybuilding?

Your first statement suggests the former, while the second suggests the latter.

If its powerlifting, then I really don't know. BUT, if its bodybuilding (which I assume because you're in the bodybuilding section) then why MUST you deadlift/squat? Maybe those exercises aren't best suited for your body. Perhaps you should try another exercise, like front squats and Romanian deadlifts. They may work your quads and hams better than a traditional squat and deadlift. In bodybuilding, the goal is to choose the best exercises that stimulate your muscles, and get stronger at them. Just because people have espoused the benefits of a certain exercise, doesn't mean its the best exercise for you. And from the sounds of it, those exercises don't stimulate your target muscle's very well.

Heck, you can keep Bill Starr's template, just replace the squats/deadlifts with a different, more suitable exercise for you. For example, replace squats with front squats or leg press, and replace deadlifts with Romanian deadlifts or Good Mornings. I don't think there's anything inherently wrong with that.

Just my thoughts though.

Do Madcow's version if you're going to do one IMO.

What's the difference? never done either myself..but I always here those two thrown around