Bill Roberts, you once wrote about beginners...

Mr. Roberts, sir,
You wrote in an old Q&A column: “I recommend focusing simply on retaining muscle while dieting. The only exception to that is with a relatively novice trainer, one who has gained less than 25 lb of muscle from his starting point, or 10 pounds of muscle from her starting point.”

I am a beginner. I was wondering what you would recommend to best take advantage of the potential to lose fat and gain muscle simultaneously.

Here are my specifics: I’m 140 lbs, 19-20%bf. I’ve been training for 5 weeks, doing a whole body workout 3 times per week. I started with 3 sets per bodypart, but I cut it down to 2 to avert overtraining. Thusfar, I have not done cardio (but I’m considering doing 20 min of moderate cardio on the days after weightraining
to aid recovery). At 2200-2400 calories each day (maybe more, some days I wasn’t a good record keeper), I gained about a pound per week, so I’ve cut down to 2100 (15 times bodyweight) since I assume one loses fat faster than he gains muscle if both are happening at the same time.

I’d appreciate any advice you have for me on my
training and diet to help take advantage of this window of opportunity.

Thank you,
Brian

Brian, I think your planned number of calories – 15 per lb of total bodyweight, which in
your case is almost 19 calories per lb of
lean bodyweight – is probably appropriate
for muscle gain, but not for losing fat at
the same time. If you can lose fat at 15
calories per lb of lean bodyweight, which
would be about 1700 calories per day, you
are blessed in your fat-burning metabolism.

I would focus on consistency, being quite
sure of how much you are eating and having
the kind of diet you want in terms of protein,
carbs, and fat, and adjust the diet according
to your results over periods of several
weeks. If you’re losing fat faster than say
1 lb per week, then probably you’re really
compromising your ability to add muscle at